Accessories · Knitting

The Beginning

So, when I was a little kid my grandmother gave me a set of milk protein plastic pink knitting needles and a ball of blue yarn. She then attempted to teach me how to knit. There was a bit of a complication though. My grandmother knits left-handed, and though, I am predominantly a left-handed I could never really “get it” and thus was stuck with just the knit stitch for years.

When I was in high school I began looking at knitting and crochet again. I’d always had an interest in them (along with sewing and other crafty type things), and wanted to learn how to make things for myself. That’s when I found the book Stitch ‘N Bitch. It had the right attitude to grab my attention at 16 (c’mon, it’d would grab your attention too at that age), and I began to practice the knit stitch again (this time right handed) and finally learned to purl along with increasing and decreasing but I never really got the hang of it.

Then my grandmother gave me her old knitting kit. She was in her early 80’s by this time and her arthritis meant she couldn’t really knit anymore (she’d always been more of a sewing person anyways) and thus I got her case with all her accessories:
Grandma's Knitting Kit

As you can see, there’s actually quite a bit of stuff in it, and though I don’t know what all of it is yet, there is quite a variety of needle sizes to work with for a beginner like myself.

So after putting a massive effort into cleaning my room this past week (convientely my spring break from college), I found all my yarn and supplies again. Figuring it would be something good to do to help relax from studies and de-stress after school days or whatever, I decided to pick things up again.

To get myself back into the knitting groove I’m making a basic scarf.

Basic Ribbed Scarf

As you can see, it’s a simple ribbed scarf. I have the really bad habit of balling up skeins of yarn and then not keeping the labels, so I can’t tell you the kind of yarn beyond soft, black, and acrylic. I’m using size 8 needles cause, to be honest? Those were the ones on hand when I picked up the ball of yarn from my mess otherwise known as my room.

I’m probably not going to block the scarf or anything simply because I have no idea how to even do something like that, but it should be fine as is.

I’ve also downloaded a bunch of free patterns and I’m going to try to make a hat once I finish the scarf.

Anyways, I’ll keep this updated with daily progress on the scarf (of course if I finish it tomorrow I’ll mention that as well).

Comments welcome! :)

