Uncategorized

Happy Thanksgiving (2011)

There’s a lot that’s happened in the past year, looking back on it. This time last year I was in my first semester at a new school, enjoying my classes, and I wasn’t even knitting!

Can you believe all the progress I’ve made in less than a year? I joined Ravelry on a whim on (according to their website) March 18, 2011. And I’ve come all this way since then. Isn’t it incredible? I’ve knit more in the past 8 months than I had my whole life previous.
I remember learning to knit at my grandmother’s house. Sitting at her kitchen table or living room. With these pink size 10 needles that were made of casin (or at least I think that’s what it’s called), that plastic you can make from cow’s milk (they tasted disgusting by the way). A few years ago, my grandmother started giving me her craft books, things like knitting (my favorite ones), cross stitch, crochet, sewing, just anything she thought I might like. I enjoy the books, and they’re one of the few things that don’t really go out of date (unless you count the book of family sweater patterns from the 70s). I even use her needle case. Once her arthritis got bad she started giving me all of her craft things, well, not just me, my mother and I each keep getting stuff from her, depending on our interests (which are different).

As for knitting, things are going well there, I think I have a few too many projects on the needles though (two different pairs of socks, the blue thing which is on hold and still a secret, a shawl, some wrist warmers, and that never ending baby blanket.

I swear, that blanket is not getting any longer. I knit and knit and nothing seems to happen, it just seems to stay in this semi-square state when i want it to end up as a rectangle (though a wide one) when I’m done.

There are some photo’s for you, so have a Happy Thanksgiving to those of you in the USA tomorrow, and don’t forget to loosen those belt buckles after eating all that turkey.




(see the pattern starting? They’re called ‘Maeva’ and they’re knit in fignering weight with size 0 needles. Tell you more about them in a later post)

(I’ll leave you guessing what this is. It’s going to be a holiday present so it’s currently under wraps.)

Comments welcome! :)

