Uncategorized

Happy Hanukkah! (2011)

This is the first Hanukkah I’m celebrating on my blog here. There isn’t a Hanukkah theme here on WordPress or I would be changing my blog to that for the next eight days. For those of you don’t know, all Jewish holidays start at sundown. For reference, today, Dec 20, 2011 is Kislev 24, 5772 (or כ״ד בְּכִּסְלֵו תשע״ב) if you can read Hebrew.

If you’re interested in reading more about the holiday, Wikipedia has an extensive article here. Personally, I like the fact that Hanukkah can represent something triumphant in the history of the Jewish people. How a small band (in comparison to the massive armies they were fighting) could retake their city and their land from conquerors. The story is actually quite well documented and an interesting read.

On the knitting side of things, there isn’t much to tell. Just making progress (and not every interesting pictures). I did cast on one project, a baby blanket for my cousin and his wife who are expecting their first child around the end of February.

I haven’t gotten more than a few rows on it done yet but I’m planning to start working on it in earnest after the holidays.

My two “stealth” projects that I’m working on that I’m not saying anything about are going well and should be done on time (if I can get done what needs to get done).

The Hemlock Ring blanket is going well as well.

But the rows can get a little repetative since I’m now onto the feather and fan part of the patter and it’s taking a while. I’m surprised, actually, that i haven’t had to start on my second skein of yarn yet. I guess I over estimated the yardage I need for it, but we’ll see. The rows keep getting bigger and so keep using more yarn, it’ll be interesting to see how much it actually takes. There are two sizes to the pattern and I want to do the larger one if I can bring myself to work on it for that long. We’ll just have to see how everything goes.

And now that my finals are over I’ll have a bit more knitting time, but really, I think I’m just kidding myself until after Christmas due to all the baking and stuff I’m going to have to work on for the family. It’s not that I don’t like doing it, I love baking. It’s just… I have these two projects that I want to finish before the end of Saturday and I don’t know if I’m going to make it. We’ll have to see I guess. Wish me luck!

Comments welcome! :)

