Uncategorized

Getting Close to the End

The end of 2011 is coming. On Saturday it’ll be New Years and then starts 2012. It’s hard to believe that in the coming year I’ll turn 25 and I’ll be two semesters closer to finally getting a bachelor’s degree.

I have quite a few things planned for 2012. I’ll be starting my new major (English with a concentration in Creative Writing) and I’ll be doing my first knit-a-long (KAL) starting in January. It’ll be socks, this pattern to be precise.

But beyond what’s happening in the new year looking back on the past year, I find that I’m actually very proud of myself for keeping up both my knitting and this blog for as long as I have. Granted, I started this blog in April, but the fact that I haven’t stopped updating it and that I’ve actually put work into it and think about what I do…. who knew I loved knitting this much?

When I was young I liked knitting but I wasn’t on the internet a lot (or the internet as we know it didn’t exist yet) and so it’s only now that I’m an adult that I find myself going back to that childhood hobby that I learned in my grandmother’s kitchen and turning it into something that I’ve been doing for months now and creating really wonderful things.

For example, on Saturday, I gave my grandmother her Christmas present (a day early) and my mother her second Hanukkah present. I had knitted my grandmother a pair of socks (mentioned in my last post) and a shawl for my mother. I haven’t given either of them a handmade present in years. Since I was a little child, and though it was stressful to keep the projects secret from my mother (living in the same house doesn’t help), her reaction, and my grandmother’s reaction to their presents is what made it all worth it.

2012 is going to be full of even more projects. I’ve cast on for a baby blanket for my cousin and his wife who are expecting their first child (a son) come the end of February / beginning of March, and since I now know that there is going to be a shower the end of January, means I need to get to work on it. One project though, that I want to finish before the new year comes is my Hemlock Ring blanket which, I should be able to get done if I don’t work on anything else between now and then. We’ll see. The other thing is that I really want to start my KAL project but I have to hold myself back until the new year ;).

As for resolutions, ’cause everyone has to have a New Years resolution, the biggest is that I want to get organized. My room, my things, my yarn, my books, I just want to get organized. Keep your fingers crossed that I actually do it.

Comments welcome! :)

