Uncategorized

15 Rows

I have fifteen rows left in my Hemlock Ring Blanket and I’m on track to meet my new years deadline. One problem is that each row is currently 504 stitches long, and there’s 5 rows to every patter repeat, I have 3 repeats left, the first is the 504 stitches, then 536 stitches and finally, the largest is 568 stitches per round. That’s a lot of knitting and a lot of yarn. I started the second skein of yarn for the blanket last night and I have a feeling that it’s all going to be used up in these last rows. The other problem? I’ve come down with starter-itis…. again.

I don’t know what it is with me and finishing projects. I love to finish them, don’t get me wrong, I absolutely adore the finished project but I also love starting new things, figuring out a new pattern, getting down to the nitty-gritty of it…. I don’t know what it is I love so much.

This may have been mention on this blog before (if my memory serves it has been) but there are typically two types of knitters. The process knitter and the product knitter. The process knitter likes the process, just as it sounds, enjoys the actual process of knitting and doesn’t care what happens to the finished object. The product knitter on the other hand is all about the end, what it looks like, do they get to use it, who it’s going to (mostly themselves) etc.. I’ve always seen myself as a bit of both. And, in reality, I think a lot of people are a bit of both. The world isn’t black and white and so I think that it’s possible to both enjoy the process and the product when all things are said and done.

In other news…. I went to my LYS (well, the only one that isn’t a big box store). I got two different yarns.

The first is this Aran-weight (also known as worsted) 100% wool in two colors to make a really nice hat pattern I found called Béret généreux and I just love the pattern. I got a natural/off-white/taupe color, and what’s called cornflower which is a really nice blue.

First, the natural color:

Next the cornflower:

I also picked up some lace-weight yarn (my first – and it’s Alpaca!), and though I have no idea what I’m going to make with it, I got enough to make myself a really nice shawl (which is what I’m leaning towards doing with it).

Comments welcome! :)

