Uncategorized

Happy New Year 2012

The title really should be “Happy New Year and Florida Vacation”, but I figured that would be a bit lon

I swear, I spent most of yesterday trying to figure out what I wanted to bring. I ended up bringing most of my in-progress knitting projects along, I worked on two of them on the plane flight. The Viking Socks which I’m doing for a Jan 1 – Feb 29 knit-a-long (KAL) that I managed to get a good start on. The other project I worked on was Benden Weyr which is actually looking quite yellow.

Actually, with Benden I’ve made it to row 82, out of 152 which means I’m more than halfway done knitting it, but as it’s worked from the center out, each row is longer than the one before, which means the end takes longer to knit than the beginning. The one thing I might not do is the ruffled edge, I haven’t decided if I actually like it or not. Though, since this is my first time through the pattern I might just knit is as directed and who knows, I might make another one if I like it.

The only thing about being in Florida is that I couldn’t bring my blocking wires with me, so whatever I finish down here (which I hope is a few things, like Benden) will have to wait until I get home to be blocked. It’s not the end of the world, it would just be nice to photograph the completely finished object in sunny weather, but, ’tis life.

So, I suppose some pictures are in order!

First off, I’ve made some progress on Meava which I’ve had on the needles since November but I knit a few rows every now and then and I’m getting fairly close to the heel (or at least it seems that way, maybe I just have big feet).

So that’s the progress so far, I’m about 2/3 down the length of my foot.

And now for the Viking Socks. There was a bit of a problem at first. I cast on for the larger size, then realize it was way way way to big (72 stitches was too much) so then I cast on for the smaller size (which is suppose to be 64 stitches), and ended up casting on 60, not realizing it and knit 19 rows before I realized my mistake, so then I had to rip it all out (again) and finally I got the right number of stitches. Then, I realized, on the flight down, I had completely forgotten to knit the set-up for for the cables and so had to rip back 8 rows of cabling on the plane and fix it.

And that’s that for today.

Happy new year everyone! May it be a good one!

Comments welcome! :)

