Accessories · Fiber · Knitting · Spinning

Summer 2012

It is the first week of my summer ‘vacation’ and it’s great. I definitely need the relaxation time after the end of the semester which was beyond hectic. I am working on campus over the summer, at the library, so I’m not totally free, but it’s nice. And I get knitting time at the desk. 🙂

The first thing I did, promptly after finals, was cast on another project. The “Knupps and Crosses Scarf” from Wrapped in Lace: Knitted Heirloom Designs from Around the World. Which is an amazing book.

I’m using Grignasco Merinosilk 25 which is 75% Merino and 25% silk. It’s amazing, but so super thin that when I first started with it I was afraid I would break it because I tend to knit very tightly, though I have loosened up recently. The provisional cast on gave me hell as I’d never done one before, and I ended up ripping back and redoing a section of the lower border because I got my math wrong, but I can’t wait for the finished product as much as I’m enjoying the challenge of the actual knitting.

So without further ado, some pictures:





—–
I’m finally down to the last 30-odd rows of Benden Weyr, I finished one sock of Meave but have yet to cast on the second (I really should do that), my commissioned piece is almost out of yarn, and the Slytherin scarf is moving along nicely.

I’ve also done some spinning the past couple of days. I’ve gotten to the point now I don’t have to park the spindle anymore to keep going.

I did some last night at the bowling alley while playing audience for a friend whose in a leage:

And I’ve done some today at work (along with some knitting as well):

I think I’m finally going to finish the 4oz of Superwash Merino that I got back in April in the Firetop colorway from Zarzuela’s Fibers.
(Here’s the other half that I took of the spindle last night because I’m going to 2-ply it):

And that’s that!

Comments welcome! :)

