Clothing · Harry Potter · Knitting

Sweater and Drawing

My Weasley sweater is motoring along. I’ve finished the back and moved the remaining stitches to the stitch holder and I’m approximately 8″ into the front. When it’s 15″ I start the initial so I’m looking forward to that.

I’m actually quite surprised at how fast I’m going with this. I mean, really, I know it’s basically knitting huge rectangles, but it’s like I’m driven to work on this. I basically haven’t put it down since I cast on, on Monday. And it’s all stockinette. That’s it. Just knit one row, purl the next, repeat until length is reached. I am keeping track of the row counts and the final count for the back was 162 rows and 28″.

It may not look like much  now but that is the complete back of my sweater!

Also: I did a little bit of art today. Hence the drawing part of today’s post title.

For something done as a sketch in just over an hour, I don’t think it came out too bad. Of course, her shoulders are too wide and her arms are too long, but I think that’s because I’ve lost my sense of upper body structure and musculature. I used to be quite good at drawing in fact. I took AP Studio Art back in high school and my teacher lamented the fact that I wasn’t going to go to art school (back then I still wanted to be a physicist – what was I doing in an AP art class? I liked to draw and they let me, that’s why.)

Some examples from HS:
 (Harley engine – china markers)
  (Garden statuary – chalk pastels)
 (Chinese statuary – china markers)

Hope everyone had a good Friday and enjoy your weekend!

2 thoughts on “Sweater and Drawing

Comments welcome! :)

