Accessories · Harry Potter · Knitting

Childish Excitement

I’m ridiculously excited about the upcoming movie The Hobbit, I love Tolkien’s works. I’ve read The Lord of the Rings multiple times and I’ve even read The Silmarillion and I’m working on The Book of Lost Tales, all of which are incredible. Tolkien inspired a whole genre of copy cats (I’ll even admit to writing some things in that style myself). So, when I found out that Peter Jackson, the director of the LoTR movies and the upcoming duet of movies for The Hobbit, had posted the final production video? I had to go watch it.

Don’t take me the wrong way, I’m not one of those people who complains about the differences between the books and the movies. Sure, I notice what’s different, but I can usually see it from the writer and directors points of view. A novelist has, for all intents and purposes, an unlimited amount of space for which to tell their story. A script writer and director on the other hand are limited by how long people are willing to sit in the theater (max 3 hours), and so some things are changed or removed for the sake of the larger story and the adaptation to screen. Oh, I may not like some of the changes, but I’m not going to go screaming about them either.

And now for the knitting!

I’m on the 13th block (of 19) for the Slytherin Scarf, and it’s coming along nicely. Hopefully, I’ll be finished by the end of the weekend.

And the Springtime Bandit is getting close to being done. I have about 10 rows left and then the bind off, and then I have to actually block the thing. I suppose I’ll have to use my bed for that…

 

I’ve also come to the realization that even though I make a fairly competent Continental knitter, I’m much more comfortable doing the English style, so that’s what I’m going to stick to.

Finally, as proof that Smokey and Millie are now getting along perfectly well, here’s the two of them sitting on the kitchen table begging for a handout.

 

 

Comments welcome! :)

