Accessories · Knitting

NaNoWriMo Begins!

Well, it’s day 2 of National Novel Writing Month and so far I’m on schedule. I made yesterday’s word count with 1,711 words and as of writing this at 8pm on Friday, have written another 1,072 and am going strong.

I’m doing my absolute best to finish before heading out to see Wreck-It Ralph which I’ve been seeing trailers for for a while and looks like a blast.

I do have some knitting to report on!

I swatched for the mystery KAL that I’m going to be doing this month for a shawlette.

It’s a gorgeous merino/silk blend yarn that feels so soft! I found the yarn (Cascade Yarns Heritage Silk Paints – 85% Merino, 15% Silk) at a new LYS that opened up early in October, the ladies running the shop are wonderful. They also sell fabric there and they’re going to be having sewing lessons which would be wonderful, I’ve always wanted to learn how to sew as well.

I have also volunteered to be a test knitter for a blogger I follow in Vermont, who is planning to publish a book. Now, while I can’t tell you what the patterns are, nor can I share the pictures, I can tell you that I ordered the yarn for the first pattern today. It’s Brooklyn Tweed’s Loft and it looks wonderful. It’s the yarn called for in the pattern and I can’t wait for it to get here and cast on.

There hasn’t been too much knitting this past week, what with the storm and everything, but I’m hoping to be able to show some progress next week as I get used to balancing the novel writing with the knitting.

Hope you all have a good weekend!

Comments welcome! :)

