Accessories · Knitting

Granny Cheyne Shawl

Yesterday I cast on for what is probably going to be my big project of 2013. The “Granny Cheyne’s Shetland Shawl” which is from Wrapped in Lace: Knitted Heirloom Designs from Around the World by Margaret Stove. I’ve absolutely fallen in love with lace designs, but I haven’t made many. So, I’m jumping in head first with a super complicated construction method (which involves knitting all 84 of the edge repeats first and then knitting the inner borders and then the center) in a lace weight yarn with lace patterns I’ve never knit.

It is going to take me a while though. It took me 3 hours to knit 2 of the edge repeats (they’re only 16 rows long and only 19-25 stitches/row). Granted, there were other things I kept getting distracted by, but judging by that, this is going to take a while.

So that is why I’m calling this my big project for 2013.

shot_1357170472388

I also ripped back 20-some-odd rows of my “Scylla” socks because I realized I had read my notes about the first sock wrong so I had to rip out a bit of the second and re-do it so that they matched. But now I’ve turned the heel and I only have 3 pattern repeats for the leg and then I’m done the pair! Yay!

I also picked up my “Color Affection” again and managed to knit a few rows on that, adding anther two color stripes.

IMG_20130102_084724

I didn’t knit anything at all on my “Neville Cardigan” yesterday or today. I needed a couple of days off from it as it had been my sole knitting focus for a couple of weeks. I’m planning to get back to work on it in the morning (it’s conveniently draped on the back of the love seat with the yarn so it’s easy to get to).

I’m also not-quite-stealing the idea of doing a “Sky Scarf” this year from my boss/fellow blogger where you knit the color of the sky every day for the year. I’ve made up some of my own rules because it’s pretty flexible really.

  1. 5 colors only (bright blue, light blue, blue-grey, light grey, dark grey)
  2. Two rows per day (so that all the other colors run up one side of the scarf)
  3. I will take my overall impression of the day for where I am and use that color (the weather changes far too quickly where I live – we have a saying, “Don’t like the weather, wait 5 minutes.”)

This should be an interesting project! But I still need to get the yarn for it – though I am keeping track of the sky colors for yesterday and today! The big box stores didn’t have what I was looking for so I’m when I go to project night on Friday at my LYS I’ll see what they have (it’ll be a much better selection if a little more expensive).

I hope everyone’s year is off to a great start!

2 thoughts on “Granny Cheyne Shawl

Comments welcome! :)

