Clothing · Harry Potter · Knitting

FO: Neville’s Cardigan

That’s right! It’s done! I’m even wearing it as I type this blog post. 🙂 I love my Neville Cardigan.

IMG_20130322_193711

IMG_20130322_193700

IMG_20130322_193653

The photo’s were taken at my LYS, which very much appreciated the sweater, and were taken by one of the librarians I work for at my University. I helped her teach another one of the librarians how to knit tonight. It was a ton of fun. There’s a great group of women there and I’m going to a crochet lesson next Friday. It should be fun!

I have to admit though, it’s a relief that it’s finally done. I started this back in August. Though I loved the project, it’s also a relief to have it finished. I’ll definitely been wearing this for the rest of the cold weather we have (and we’re expecting even more snow, oy veh), but it’s nice and warm, and though I might have to roll up the cuffs of the sleeves to type properly, it’s quite comfortable to wear. You don’t feel the weight of all that yarn when you’re wearing it, though when you’re just holding it, it’s a good couple of pounds of wool.

As I posted on Monday (and Wednesday), this took forever to dry. It was finally completely dry this morning. It was mostly dry last night and I was able to pick it up off the floor, but I had to leave it laying with one sleeve laid out overnight last night for it to finally finish drying completely though.

This will definitely be a sweater I wear for a long time. 🙂

10 thoughts on “FO: Neville’s Cardigan

    1. Thank you! And you don’t have to start with something as big as the sweater. There’s plenty of hat/mitt/something small patterns out there that are the perfect way to start. My first thing was a beret. I say just go for it!

      And it’s definitely super cozy. 🙂

  1. this looks amazing! Goodness gracious i might just start knitting because of this sweater it’s so freaking awesome! how hard was it to make? and how much did it cost to get all of the stuff?

    1. It’s difficult to say how ‘hard’ it was to make. Everyone’s opinion of what’s difficult is different. I tend to see things as a challenge rather than a particular difficulty level. If you make that sweater a single color, it’s not difficult a all. That pattern though, keeping track of it is the hard part. Making it line up properly is the hard part. But actually knitting it? Not nearly as difficult. As for cost… over $100 USD for sure. But keep in mind that I was using 100% wool yarn at $8/skein and I used at least 5 of each color. But I didn’t keep track of how much I spent or exactly how much yarn I used either (I was very bad about that).

      As for getting started knitting, I say go for it! I learned when I was very young but then put it down for years, only taking it back up in my early 20’s. I love it. It’s something to do with my hands, it’s productive, and it’s fun.

      1. I shall save money and learn the arts of knitting. I shall have neville’s awesome cardigan! And look awesome wearing it.Thanks for the info!.

        1. You’re welcome!

          And you can start small with something simple like a scarf (a “Harry Potter” scarf if you’re so inclined), and go from there. That’s what I did.

Comments welcome! :)

