Knitting · Sewing

Some Sewing

Instead of knitting all weekend, I spend most of Sunday afternoon doing some sewing. Well, it was more like my mom talking me through what I needed to do, but I did all the actual work! Though my mom did graft the patterns together.

I may or may  not have mentioned it before, but I’m going to Anime Boston on May 24-26 (first time every, yay!), and I’m planning to go in costume. I will be going as this character specifically on Saturday:

but I'm going to wear shoes!
but I’m going to wear shoes!

and a more generic steampunk outfit on Friday. Sunday’s the easy day – normal attire (aka jeans and a tshirt, unless I feel like getting fancy).

But, for my main costume, I need a yellow dress with a square skirt. The author of the manga (Sailor Moon BTW for those of you who feel like looking it up – character is Luna), has posted some info about her dress. I’m not going for exact of course, but I still wanted the square skirt and black underlayer.

Last month (I think) my mom and I bought some fabric on sale and some patterns to make a mock-up of the dress before going into production of the actual thing.

IMG_20130505_154630

This is what we came up with. It’s a dark fabric, and the pattern doesn’t exactly fit, we’re going to add front darts to get a closer fit, and you can’t really see how square the skirt is, but I swear it is square.

But my mom and I settled on what needed to be done and we’re going to get fabric and thread (hopefully) this week, and then we’ll see if I can actually sew! I’m finally getting to use that machine I got back in December. 😛

On the knitting front, I got the yarn for a sample knit I’m doing. It’s the Crushed pattern, which I’ve knit before (in a very nice green). This piece has to be knit quickly and then sent back to the designer. I’m going to get a skein of yarn as a thank you for knitting it. I don’t mind, I love the pattern. I got a gorgeous burgundy yarn with a hint of pink in it. I’m normally not a huge fan of pink, but this is subtle and I like it.

DSCF4652

Anywho, that’s it for now!

Comments welcome! :)

