Crochet · Fiber · Knitting

Saturday Afternoon at Squam

Friday night the weather on Saturday seemed iffy. When my mom and I looked up the forecast for Holderness, it said that the afternoon had only a 10% chance of rain. We figured we’d risk ti.

So at a quarter to ten on Saturday morning, with the weather looking like it was getting better by the minute, my mom and I headed north. An hour and a half later we were in the lakes region of New Hampshire, greeted by blue skies and sunshine. Our first stop was Keepsake Quilting in Center Harbor as they were having their big annual tent sale. My mom and I each got something. I’m particularly taken with the bracelet I got that says “Got Wool?”. Keepsake also has a yarn store and so that’s where I spent most of my time at the tent sale. Some goodies were had a some very good prices and we thou roughly enjoyed ourselves.

IMG_20130608_222507
This is what I came home with from the tent sale.

After lunch at a local restaraunt my mom and I managed to figure out how to get to the Rockwold Deephaven Camp in Holderness, NH. It turned out to be about 20 minutes from where we were sitting. Sometimes it’s nice that I live in one of the smaller states, and can go multiple places in one day.

The Squam Art Workshops were the reason we were there. More specifically the Ravelry Revelry that was from 1-5PM on Saturday, followed by the Squam Art Fair from 7:30-10PM (though my mom and I only stayed for part of the fair).

The Ravelry Revelry

DSCF4964
Everyone got free Ravelry Revelry totebags!

DSCF4965

DSCF4966
Everyone was lining up to throw pretty crocheted bean bags to win raffle tickets for some scrumptious yarn.
DSCF4967
Things got more crowded as the afternoon went on.

It was a great time. I didn’t speak to as many people as I probably should have, but I did some charity knitting (Classice Elite was putting together a blanket, a bunch of people were knitting squares), and I talked to people. There was food and drink, and it only got a little bad when the mosquitoes started coming out.

When the Revelry was over, my mom and I went in search of dinner. We ended up what I think was two towns over (but don’t quote me on that) at a small tavern type place. The food was good and we got to watch some monster trucks on the TV in the bar while we ate dinner.

Dinner done we headed back to the camp again, this time for the Art Fair. Once back though, I noticed all of the yarn bombing that was everywhere. There was so much of it! Plenty of people have taken better pictures than I have, but these are the ones I saw:

DSCF4976 DSCF4978

DSCF4980 DSCF4981

DSCF4984 DSCF4986

Finally, it was time for the Art Fair.

DSCF4992

It was quite crowded, and there were lots of “excuse me” and “pardon me” flying around, but it was great. I ogled a lot of yarn, purchases the first two issues of taproot magazine and succumbed to the call of some custom dyed, Squam only yarn. I went with the green as it made me think of the whole day.

All day I was commenting on how much green there was everywhere. I don’t live in the big city, but I’m used to seeing far fewer trees than I did on Saturday and I liked it. So, though they had red, orange, and blue Squam-only colors as well, I went with the green as it made me think of the day on the lake, in the woods, in the mountains, on a gorgeous day.

The day was lovely, it wasn’t too warm nor too cold, just a few clouds in the sky, and only a whisper of rain as the evening turned to night.

One of these years, I want to do the whole thing. Go for the five days, take the workshops, do the classes, and get to spend time on the lake with my fellow crafters. But for now I’ll leave you with my Squam goodies.

Ravelry Revelry goodies on the left. Art fair goodies on the right.
Ravelry Revelry goodies on the left. Art fair goodies on the right.
One thought on “Saturday Afternoon at Squam

Comments welcome! :)

