Accessories · Knitting

I Goofed and Had Fun

On Friday, I started the Fox in The Snow mittens (free pattern from Patons). It’s supposed to be knit in fingering weight yarn. I totally assumed that the Cascade 220 Superwass was fingering. Apparently I have trouble telling the difference…

Anyways, the goof is actually turning out to be a plus. I started working the mittens on the US2 needles the pattern calls for and it’s creating such a nice dense fabric that I’m going to continue. It’ll be an experiment.

The Latvian braid on the cuff isn't nearly as complicated as it looks.
The Latvian braid on the cuff isn’t nearly as complicated as it looks.

That’s what I’d gotten done on Friday. I didn’t get much done over the weekend, only a couple of rows, but I’m hoping to get more done soon. Especially now that the weather seems to finally be turning towards the colder side. It’s been coo and raining the last few days, which made for a fun day at the fair yesterday.

Milk cows; they had demonstrations, but missed it.
Milk cows; they had demonstrations, but I missed it.
Each of those blocks weighs 600 lbs.
Each of those blocks weighs 600 lbs, and they added two more later for an eve 6 tons.
Texas Long Horns. The big one on the right (Tex) had horns 6 feet from tip to tip. The other one (Bob) was a little smaller.
Texas Long Horns. The big one on the right (Tex) had horns 6 feet from tip to tip. The other one (Bob) was a little smaller.
Baby bunnies are adorable, but difficult to see in the dark.
Baby bunnies are adorable, but difficult to see in the dark.
That German Shepherd went almost 20 feet with his jump.
That German Shepherd went just over 19 feet with his jump.
Sheep!
Sheep!
More sheep! I missed the shearing demonstration though. :(
More sheep! I missed the shearing demonstration though. 😦
Unhappy llama.
Unhappy llama.
Piglets are cute. Right?
Piglets are cute. Right?
Giant pumpkin: 1,746.5 lbs.
Giant pumpkin: 1,746.5 lbs, not a record breaker this year, but still huge.
I got hold chicks! They're so soft! (This is now my FB profile picture :) )
I got hold chicks! They’re so soft! This is now my FB profile picture. 🙂
Who knew eggs could be blue and green, naturally?
Who knew eggs could be blue and green, naturally?
Mr. Turkey wasn't very happy and all puffed up.
Mr. Turkey wasn’t very happy and all puffed up.
Bonsai with tiny panda. I was amused.
Bonsai with tiny panda. I was amused.
More gorgeous bonsai.
More gorgeous bonsai.
I always take way too many pictures of these flowers. They're all so pretty!
I always take way too many pictures of these flowers. They’re all so pretty!

I had a great time, despite the rain and the loss of power (the power went out at the fair and the surrounding area for about an hour, maybe a little longer). It was still a great time though.

PS: I finished the second sleeve of Aidez! Now I just need to block it, sew it up, and I’ll have a finished cardigan.

Comments welcome! :)

