Accessories · Knitting

Birthday Cake

I was lucky enough to have yesterday afternoon off. I’d been feeling the urge to bake recently and I figured a whole afternoon off from work and school was as good a time as any.

I ended up making two different cakes. My boyfriend’s mother’s birthday was yesterday and we were going to her place for dinner. So I baked a marble cake. Or, well, it was supposed to be marble.
image

It tasted good at least!

The next cake u made was one for myself. A few people told me that they thought it was sad, but I don’t think so. I like baking and I like baking cake, so what’s wrong with baking my own birthday cake?

The recipe I used came from one of my Italian great grandmothers. It was my Poppa’s favorite cake (being from his mother and all) and I grew to like it as I got older. It’s a sponge cake with a cream filling. Yesterday was my first time making it, but I think it came out well.

image

And there it is. It went over well at knitting group tonight. I’d half joked last week that I’d bring a cake since my birthday was today. I originally was going to buy one, but with yesterday off I got ambitious.

All the ladies and gentlemen at Twill really liked it which was nice.

Don’t worry, I’ve been knitting too, I’ve added more stripes to my Doctor Who scarf and it’s coming along nicely.

Hope everyone has a good weekend!

2 thoughts on “Birthday Cake

    1. You’re welcome. I’m happy to share. And I think it’s a nice way to still be able to share my birthday with my grandfather, cause it was his favorite kind of cake.

Comments welcome! :)

