Uncategorized

Last Day

IMG_20131220_083317

Today is my last day of school. Yup, you read that right. I’ve finally finished my undergraduate work. I’ll probably have to come to campus a couple times in the spring semester. For one, I’m planning to walk at graduation, and for another, I’ll have to get fitted for a gown, etc.

I never thought, when I started college in September of 2006 that this was where or when I’d end up. The journey I ended up taking was not the journey I’d set out on back then.

Originally the plan had been go to college for for years (maybe five if I did a combined BS/MS) graduate, get a job as a lab tech or at NASA (I was shooting high) or anything. Because, originally, I was a physics major.

Things didn’t quite go as planned an in 2008 I found myself at school two. I went there for two years, got my associates in Liberal Arts.

September of 2010 rolls around and I’m at UMass Lowell for physics (cause I was still hell-bent on being a scientist). Just over a year later in October of 2011, I came to the realization that I couldn’t continue in my chosen field. I’ll spare you the angst and drama that realization caused me. So, spring semester of 2012, I found myself as an English major.

Now, a year and a half later I’m actually done my degree. Of course, I won’t walk until May, but I’m done. I’m actually done.

Seven and a half years is a long time to be in school. A long time to be in college. I know that many people are in school for similar amounts of time, but just sitting down and thinking about it makes it seem like an awfully long time.

So now I’m going to be out pounding the ground as they say looking for a job. College has been great. It really has been, but I think it’s time that I get out and do something else. Of course I’m extremely nervous that I won’t find something but I can always hope. 🙂

So wish me luck and enjoy the holidays!

Don’t worry, I’m still knitting, though my next post probably won’t have much knitting either but I should be back to your regularly scheduled knitting by new years. 😉

Comments welcome! :)

