Accessories · Clothing · Harry Potter · Knitting

KAL – Ginny’s Cardigan – Part 2 Complete

Yesterday, while waiting for my boyfriends couch to be delivered to his new place (he had work, I was free, so I took delivery of a very comfy couch), I finished the second part of this KAL.

The person running it at my LYS and I had a chat about the torso length of the sweater on Friday. We both agreed that we thought it was a little short. I’m not a fan of sweaters stopping right at the top of my jeans like in the model. I’m too short waist-ed and too short in general to wear something that hits me that high.

So part to was to have 12″ (or 1 foot) of knitting done before the bust shaping from the cast on edge. I did 15″. It’s going to hit me right at the hips and I like it a lot better than where the 12″ was hitting me. As far as I know that the only mod I’ll be making to the sweater and that’s a really easy one when you’re just knitting straight without decreases or increases.

IMG_20140121_090941

And there it is. It doesn’t look like much, but the lace is starting to look really good. Bust shaping is going to be started on Friday. I could always knit ahead, but I don’t want to do that. I want to stay with the schedule that’s listed, since it’s actually doable and see what pacing myself can do.

Also, I mentioned my fox mitts last week, and how I wanted to finish them, yeah, that didn’t happen. I’m hoping by the end of this week they’ll be done. Now all I need to do is actually knit them – or at least, y’know, finish the second mitten.

In other news, I think I’m allergic to winter. No, seriously, my nose hasn’t stopped running continuously for two or three weeks now. I’m going through boxes of tissues at a time. And I’m not sick! How I’m not dehydrated from all of this I have no idea. I’m open to suggestions (besides allergy medicine which makes me wicked drowsy), and I’d be happy to hear them. My poor nose is so sore now it’s not even funny. I’m so sick of sneezing and blowing my nose all the time.

I hope everyone getting this Arctic blast (again!) stays warm! I know I’ll be curled up with lots of knitted things and lots of layers.

4 thoughts on “KAL – Ginny’s Cardigan – Part 2 Complete

  1. Beautiful! I think it’s sometimes easier to relax and knit at someone else’s house. All you had to do was wait, and enjoy the comfy couch when it came! (As opposed to just throwing in a load of laundry, or washing up a few dishes, or straightening stuff here, or there, which is what happens to me at home.) I’ll be casting on for the third time (third time’s the charm?) later today. Then knit a lot to catch up.

    1. Well, there isn’t anything to do other than sit around at my boyfriends place. He hasn’t even moved in yet! And no TV yet either for that matter. It was a very distraction free environment.

      Is the cast on itself giving you problems or was it size or something else?

Comments welcome! :)

