RSS

Gilded

28 Feb

When I finished my cowl on Tuesday, I of course, immediately cast on two more projects. I said “no more seed stitch!” and what did I do? Start a project that was all ribbing. I’m a glutton for punishment I guess.

One of said projects is over halfway done already! Aren’t fingerless mitts great? The pattern is¬†Vino from Knitty and it’s available for free. I’m using Madelinetosh Sock in the “Gilded” colorway. It’s a gorgeous golden yellow color that I just fell in love with.

IMG_20140225_163442

WIN_20140228_215017_edited

Of course my laptop camera messed up with the colors. The top picture is as close to real-world as I could manage. It’s a gorgeous color.

I’ve made a few mods to the pattern.

  1. Using German Short Rows instead of wrap & turn. I always get a gap with w&t so I’m using a different technique.
  2. Shortening the hand portion by one full cable pattern repeat. I wanted the mitt to stop at my first knuckle. You know, where you hand turns into your fingers? Yeah I wanted it to stop there instead of going up over my fingers. So I just left off that last repeat.

They’re not huge mods, but they do change things a bit.

I hope everyone has a great weekend, and maybe come Monday I’ll have a finished project for you readers! (Hopefully!)

 
6 Comments

Posted by on February 28, 2014 in Accessories, Knitting

 

Tags: , , , , ,

6 responses to “Gilded

  1. sybilqiu

    February 28, 2014 at 11:32 pm

    Oooo that really is a gorgeous gold!

     
  2. jody

    March 1, 2014 at 8:07 am

    great pattern choice! i don’t remember seeing Vino before. the angled garter section looks really cool!

    can’t wait to see the pair :)

     
    • Serenova

      March 1, 2014 at 8:15 am

      I was surprised a Knitty pattern has so few projects (less than 50!), but it’s great. I’m already working my way up the next one, they’re a pretty quick knit if they’re all you’re knitting. :)

       
  3. salpal1

    March 3, 2014 at 1:18 pm

    Love that color! It is like sunshine!

     
    • Serenova

      March 3, 2014 at 2:59 pm

      I thought the same thing! :)

       

Wanna say something? Leave a reply!

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 392 other followers

