Accessories · Knitting

FO – Selkie (minus the buttons)

It’s done! As I type this it’s blocking on my bed, hopefully it’ll be dry soon (given how dry the house is it should be done by the time I go to bed tonight).

IMG_20140311_155218

Project: Selkie

Patern: Selkie by Melissa Schaschwary

Yarn: Cascade Ecological Wool in colorway #8087 purchases from Twill

IMG_20140311_152543

 

IMG_20140311_152608_1

This wasn’t a particularly difficult knit. But there was a bit of a slog towards the end when the rows got really long as you kept up the raglan increases. I did far more of the back cable than the pattern said. Why? The Cascade was working up more like a worsted weight rather than the bulky the pattern was designed for so I ended up with more cable repeats than the pattern says.

Overall I did 6 cable repeats plus an additional 6 rows.

I’m happy with it and it needs to dry faster so I can sew the buttons on! I’m planning on raiding my mom’s piles of buttons for some appropriately sized ones in black or brown.

Now that I’m down to four WIPs so if I cast on one or two more things it won’t be that many, and really, two of them I can’t really take anywhere so there’s that.

2 thoughts on “FO – Selkie (minus the buttons)

Comments welcome! :)

