Fiber · Spinning

Sheep & Wool

Tomorrow, bright and early (well, kind of early), my mom, a friend, and I are all going up to the NH Sheep & Wool Festival. I can’t wait! This is going to be my first time going since I really got into crafting and knitting again in college. I’m almost itching with anticipation.

My camera battery is charging as I type and I have a 32GB memory card in there. Excessive? Maybe. Am I still going to use it? Probably. I’m just so excited!

A few of the ladies from my LYS are going to be there too so maybe I’ll run into them, it’ll certainly be interesting!

On the actual knitting front, I’m still working on that test-knit which is, soon, going to be done as a mystery KAL, so no pictures allowed! I will say that I screwed up (lost track of rows) and had to rip back about 40 rows of knitting. Fun times. Totally my mistake though and as soon as I realized something was wrong, I was able to fix it easily. Too bad I didn’t catch it sooner!

Also, I know I’ve mentioned that I spin on here. Not that I spin a lot. And I use a drop spindle, but it’s been 2 years since I learned how and only today, TODAY! that I learned how to braid roving. It’s just the coolest thing.

IMG_20140509_125805

See that braid right there? I braided that! It’s probably the coolest trick I’ve picked up in the last few months. So much better for storing the roving! I actually realized that I had no idea how to braid roving when I was watching a podcast earlier today and she was talking about braiding her roving. Cue the Google search! It’s much easier than I thought it was, though keeping the cats out of it while I braided was something else entirely.

Expect a really long post and a return to regular blogging after the festival!

Comments welcome! :)

