Fiber · Knitting · Spinning

NH Sheep & Wool Recap

The festival was a blast. I took well over 100 pictures, I got to pet sheep, and angora bunnies, and alpaca, and angora goats. Even got to see an alpaca get sheared!

Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to get into any of the workshops or demonstrations but I still had a ton of fun anyways.

DSC08538

DSC08564

DSC08568

DSC08575

DSC08625

DSC08633

DSC08640

DSC08644

DSC08650

DSC08658

DSC08663

DSC08666

DSC08670

As you can see, there was, well, a lot to see. So much fiber, not just in yarn from, but as roving or even raw fleeces. A couple of times I had to go wash my hands from the sheer amount of lanolin on some of the fleeces that I was able to touch. Really, there was just so much going on it’s hard to give an accurate play-by-play of the day. I think this selection of photo’s speak for themselves. There was a lot going on.

While I didn’t buy any yarn I did come home with some things.

DSC08678

A commemorative tote bag (because I have enough t-shirts).

DSC08679

8oz of pure alpaca fiber. This isn’t roving, but it’s been combed and I can pull it apart to spin from.

DSC08682

A lightweight spindle. I have heavier ones, but a nice lightweight one is a great addition to my collection.

DSC08685

Two braids from Mad Color The one on the left is called ‘Morpho’ and the one on the right is called ‘Life is Short and You are Hot’. They’re very yummy and I can’t wait to start spinning them.

DSC08690

And lastly, something called a ‘wristaff’. Basically you slip the cord through the center of a yarn cake and you can knit from it while it hangs from your write. I think it’s the coolest thing!

So, overall, a great day, and I had a blast. I’m totally going to go next year.

Comments welcome! :)

