Accessories · Knitting

FO: The Spaces in Between

Well, technically this post was supposed to go up on Wednesday the 4th of June (which is/was my maternal grandmothers 93rd birthday, I gave her a call and wished her a happy birthday), it is instead going up on Thursday the 5th of June because I’m a dork and stayed up so late I’m writing this after midnight and it’s technically Thursday even though my brain still thinks it’s Wednesday. Anyway, on to the knitting!

The colors on this shawl may or may not look familiar. This is a test knit I started back in April. The pattern has since been released (as a mystery knit-a-long I might add) so I’m free to talk about it! The pattern is called The Spaces in Between and my project is here. The shawl is almost entirely garter stitch with eyelet rows every now and then. The secondary points are very easy to add, and I think the whole thing turned out quite nice.

Here is the finished product:

IMG_20140604_215957

This was a bit of a stash-busting project for me. Both the purple and the orange yarn came from stuff I’ve had for a while. The gray came from the designer of the pattern because she didn’t use her whole skein. Good times!

The only thing that really bothered me about the shawl, in the end, was that there’s and I-cord bind off. Don’t get me wrong I love the look of I-cord, and I did use the I-cord at the end, but it took me a long time and I like to think of my self as someone who can knit at a decent speed.

I had lost some steam on this project part f the way through because I realized I had to rip back a huge chunk and it was a little discouraging, but I figured out the problem, gave some good feedback on the pattern and it’s basically a happy ending all around.

Now to finish that Hitchhiker I started because that’s a sample and it needs to get finished.

PS: I started another Rockefeller. I succumbed to a bit of starterititis. Yes I know I said I was doing Sock It To Summer. I need to finish that Hitchhiker first though!

IMG_20140602_094306

Comments welcome! :)

