Accessories · Fiber · Knitting · Sock It To Summer 2014 · Socks

FO: Cotton Candy Socks (Kind Of)

So, I can apparently knit a sock in less than 3 days. However, it doesn’t match.

20140718_231006-2

Somehow, though I used the exact same yarn, on the exact same needles, knit them back to back with no break in between, AND they’re the exact same number of stitches (yes I triple counted), the second sock is bigger (it’s the one on the right). Don’t quite know how that happened. I’m debating ripping back, because, honestly, it’s too big. I’m not sure what to do. I’m really not. But I’m not happy with it. I’m leaning towards ripping it out. I’ll probably decide over the weekend. At least I know that I won’t need more yarn, since it’s supposed to be SMALLER.

But really, ripping it out would mean ripping out the whole sock, because it doesn’t match all the way down to the toe. I guess I just kind of ignored the fact that something wasn’t quite right, when, when I finished the toe decreases, I’d already moved onto another color where on the first one I hadn’t yet. But of course, I just blithely carried on and now I’m stuck with two socks of different proportions.

Any suggestions would be welcome.

For now, I’m going to sleep on it. I’m getting up early so that I can watch the new episode of Sailor Moon Crystal live (it’s 6AM my time). Have I mentioned recently I’m a total nerd?

PS: I organized yarn today! And cleaned. But the yarn is prettier. 🙂

20140718_120049

9 thoughts on “FO: Cotton Candy Socks (Kind Of)

    1. Thank you! It doesn’t all fit in the bin (I need about 1 for all the acrylic and another for the 3 bags of sweater-quantity yarn I have laying around). But I’m happy with wat I managed to get in there. 🙂

  1. I never match with self-striping yarn. I like weird socks. I’ve done that one bigger thing too – beats me, but I’d take it out because you’ll never wear that big sock ………

    1. I did decide to take it out. It was big enough that it was unwearable and I LIKE the stripes to match, but they don’t have to so I think I”ll deal with it with these socks.

  2. I am a perfectionist but I try not to be so here is my suggestion. I think the question is can you wear the larger sock? If the answer is no then some redoing might be good. But could you maybe just go back to just before the heel. The socks look pretty similar up to then. Just start the heel in the same place colourwise as the one that is okay.

    1. Unfortunately, I couldn’t wear the bigger sock. It was also knit at a looser gauge so it wasn’t the same size around either. The whole thing ended up coming out so that I could get the gauge the same as well, not just the stripes.

  3. Do you know what you would do differently to make it fit better if you ripped it out? That’s a hard one. I did read an article yesterday, though, on how sleeping on a problem really does help because our brain works differently when we sleep, and we can wake up with new ideas. Good luck! Also, I love the yarn in the bin. Cleaning is so much more fun with eye candy like that to work around!

Comments welcome! :)

