Accessories · Knitting

Eve of Going Home

As the clock ticks later and later I’m still scanning away on a stack of family letters from the 1940s. The majority of them are from my great-grandmother to my grandfather when he was in the US Army in WWII. And most of the letters are from late 1945 and early 1946.

I love family history like this. For example, I found out that one of my great aunt’s used to address letters to her brother (my grandfather) as “Dear Stinky…”. You can’t make stuff up like that!

IMG_20141022_133619

 

Alas, for I could talk about my family for a long time. However, this is a knitting blog and I’m assuming that at the end of the day you’re here for the yarn, so without further ado, may I present a finished object!

20141022_193556

Okay, so the colors clash with my shirt, but that’s not the point! I finished the Honey Cowl that I’m doing as a sample for A Hundred Ravens this afternoon. The way the color pooled was really interesting. It just needs a good wash. I knitted a rather large amount of dog hair into this cowl while at my aunts house in Florida.

Now back to working on the socks I had going before I started the cowl!

Packing is done (except for what I need in the morning), and I’m spending the rest of the evening scanning the letters my aunt got from my great-aunt. Scanning takes a long time!

20141022_221255

That’s what’s going home with me! Yes I can zip the suitcase closed quite easily – clothing compacts after all. The pile of clothes is what I’m going to be wearing tomorrow. The red bag and the pink bag are my carry on’s. I didn’t bring a lot of stuff with me, but I did severely over-estimate the amount of knitting I could do in a week and brought WAY to much yarn with me. Better to have to much than not enough!

2 thoughts on “Eve of Going Home

  1. I love the new cowl! I’ve seen several of those Honey Cowls around, and that may need to move up on my own queue. And the family history sounds fascinating. What a treasure, to have those letters to scan! See you soon! Have a good trip back.

Comments welcome! :)

