Harry Potter · Knitting · scarf · Shawls · Socks · Weaving

FO: Rockefeller in Hufflepuff

IT’S DONE!!!

20141215_194428

20141215_194651

20141215_194659

I’m so glad it’s done. It’s not washed or blocked yet, but the actual knitting is done.

There were 3 bid modifications I did to the pattern:

  1. I used worsted weight yarn (Rowan Pure Wool Worsted in Clove and Buttercup to be specific).
  2. I added a 5th stripe (not in the pattern had to figure out the math, fun times).
  3. Applied i-cord edge to the wings so that it had the same border all the way around (a pain in the a$$ but SO worth it).

I’m happy to share my modification to add the 5th stripe if you’re just as crazy as I am and you have the pattern. Though adding the 5th stripe means that the wings get even wider and it’s an instant case of “the stripes that never end”. Juggling 3 balls of yarn on the wings, while inherenlty annoying, ended up being totally wroth it for the finished product.

This is one project I’m glad to get off the needles.

The only problem is that in order to block it I need to procure a rather large amount of vinegar as the Clove colorway (aka black) was rubbing dye onto my hands like crazy and since I won’t want that dye on all of my clothes (or my neck for that matter) I need to give it a vinegar bath to set the dye and I need a rather large amount of vinegar to do that. After that it’s going to get a more traditional bath so that it stops smelling like vinegar!

As for other projects…

My weaving is coming along nicely.

I finished one of the two socks I want to get done by the end of the year:

wpid-img_20141213_220009.jpg

I’ve already gotten to the foot of the second sock (I’m doing a Fish Lips Kiss Heel) and I’m hoping to get them done soon.

Lastly, I finally got around to washing and blocking the houndstooth scarf I took of the loom a couple of weeks ago.

20141215_195615

The yarn softened up nicely and I’ll probably wear it more now. 🙂 It was a little scratchy before, but it’s really nice now.

I think that’s it for now!

PS: I GET TO SEE THE HOBBIT: THE BATTLE OF FIVE ARMIES TOMORROW! I’m so excited. I watched An Unexpected Journey today, and I’m going to watch The Desolation of Smaug tomorrow before going to the theater. I’m just so excited! Though I know I’m going to cry 😦 I’ve read the book so I know what happens. Still, it’s going to be great and I can’t wait!

5 thoughts on “FO: Rockefeller in Hufflepuff

  1. Gorgeous shawl! I hope you enjoy the film, i am gonna watch it for completions sake but haven’t been a massive fan of the films. Only because 1 tiny book shouldn’t stretch to 3 epic length movies.

    1. Thank you. 🙂 I’m quite happy with my shawl.

      As for the movies… I like to consider them their own entity. As a series of movies I like them. If I start comparing them to the books I get less happy with them. I like to think of them as a big epic action/adventure movie that I can enjoy purely for the sake of the fact that they’re fun to watch.

      Don’t get me wrong, I’ve read the book, I love the book (and the other Middle-Earth books), and compared to each other the books and movies are not the same. But the movie is still fun to watch, so I’m going to enjoy it for what it is, a fun movie, and leave the comparisons to people who are more dedicated than I am.

      1. I think thats the best way to look at it. They certainly are a spectacle and they are entertaining. I just can’t love them like LOTR. I still have them on blu ray though haha! This last one is meant to be the best one so I’ve heard. Looking forward to the battle 🙂

Comments welcome! :)

