Personal Sock Club 2015 · Socks · Yarn

FO: January Socks

And they’re done! My personal sock club socks for January – called Monarch Butterfly – are done!

20150112_223938

I could have finished them a few days ago, but I had the urge to read over the weekend and as I haven’t quite mastered reading and knitting at the same time, I ended up reading more than knitting. But they’re done now! And not even halfway through the month. I moved on these. It wasn’t on purpose but it just kinda happened.

Yarn: Opal Regenwald / Rainforest in the Schmetterling (Butterfly) color.
Needle: US1 /2.25mm – I used a new to me needle an Addi. Those things are sharp!

The pattern I used was my own vanilla sock pattern, slightly modified because this yarn is almost a sport weight instead of a true fingering, so I had to cast on less stitches. It wasn’t that much of a problem, but I’d originally done my normal amount of toe increases and only when my mom said something did I realize something was off. I was less than an inch past the toe so it was simply and easy enough to rip back and try again.

I didn’t even bother trying to make the stripes match. As I said in my podcast, the color repeat was just too long to try and make them match. It’s not like I won’t know they match anyways, it’s easy enough to tell so I didn’t bother. Normally I’m the kind of person who wants their socks to match, but in cases like this when it’s a complete waste of yarn to do so, I don’t bother. If it’s only like a yard or two and they match, great, but this was going to be like half of the remaining ball of yarn. Not going to happen.

Anyways, now I have to wait until February for more socks. I could cast on non-personal sock club socks, but I have 5 other projects that could use some work, so I’m going to focus on them until February and then I get to cast on my second pair!

I think the having to wait will keep me interested keeping knitting them. We’ll see!

2 thoughts on “FO: January Socks

    1. I have 5 wips. 4 knitting, 1 crochet. The crochet is a stuffed cat for my cousin’s daughter, two of the knitting projects are (affectionately called) “lace of doom”, one knitting project is a “Vortex Shawl”, and the last is my “Hitchhiker”.

Comments welcome! :)

