fingerless mitts · Knitting · Shawls · Socks

Cast and Darn

I’ve cast on two projects in the last 4 days.

The first was my Catkin which is a KAL with my LYS. There’s no specific start or end date, but I figured this past Friday was as good a day as any to get started on it.

20150116_181204

I’ve since done a couple more of the cream stripes but haven’t taken a picture of it yet (can you tell I’m being a little lazy?).

As for the second project cast on, it was a pair of Endpaper Mitts. I needed some faire isle in my life right now.

20150119_125113

That’s the very start of the first mitt. I don’t think they’ll become purse knitting (I need a chart for the colorwork) but they can certainly be couch knitting.

The “Darn” part of this posts title comes from the fact that I put a hole in both of the toes of this pair of socks yesterday.

20150119_120556

I’m not going to use the Yarn Harlot’s method which is to stand over a trash can, say “Darn!” followed by choice expletives if one chooses and drop the socks in. I on the other hand want to save these socks. I think it means I need to make sure my toenails aren’t sharp! Now I get to learn how to darn socks. Until I manage to figure that out (and possibly get a darning egg) they’re going to go into storage and out of wearing rotation.

I had hoped to be able to post this after a day’s work at my new job, but the state of NH hasn’t finished processing the job agency’s request for a background check (don’t worry, there’s nothing there), which means I can’t actually start work until they finally finish. 😦 And I was so excited about going in today! Despite the fact that I’d be sitting in the tail end of Boston rush hour traffic.

But anyways, hopefully I can head in tomorrow and get started on the training I was supposed to start on today!

Lastly, this is for you Joyce! Here’s the links I forgot to put in for the patterns I mentioned in my last podcast.

That should be all of them!

 

PS: Yes I’m spinning but the cop on my spindle doesn’t look ANY different from what I showed in the podcast so I don’t see the point in posting a picture.

2 thoughts on “Cast and Darn

Comments welcome! :)

