fingerless mitts · Knitting

FO: Endpaper Mitts

They’re done!

20150127_170511

They’re a little snug (not that you can tell by looking at my hand) but I’m happy with them. The faire isle doesn’t have the stretch the ribbing has but they still fit so overall I consider them a success.

The yarn was Rowan Finest in Pure and Lure. I’m sure you can guess which is which. I used only one gram from the second ball of purple and only half a ball of white. Don’t ask me how, but that’s how it worked out!

I did modify them a tiny little bit. I picked up a different number of stitches for the thumb because though I have tiny wrists I have kinda thick fingers. I also, for the second mitt, instead of working the first 2 rows flat like the patter said, instead began working immediately in the round. I also did a different cast on and bind off than stated. The biggest mod though was that I didn’t make them as long as the pattern said to. After you’ve separated the thumb stitches you’re supposed to do another full repeat of the arm chart. I don’t need that kind of length so I simply left it off. They fit fine anyways!

Next, this pile

20150127_173146

is going to become a cowl.

Also, I need to finish the scarf I have on my loom and get the second one I have planned on it. Neither of them are gifts and there’s no deadline, but I’m itching to work on them. But I was good and made myself finish these mitts.

Lastly, I don’t know about people in other parts of the country, but the snow today has definitely turned into a New England Blizzard. At least where I am in NH. Which, coincidentally, has had a “Blizzard Warning” from last night through tomorrow morning put out. My car is buried in snow and I only know which lump it is because I remember where I parked. At least the cat is amused, she’s been watching out the window all day at the flakes coming down.

Here’s some pictures from earlier today, because, really, it hasn’t stopped yet. I can see it coming down as fast and heavy as it has been all day via the light out in the parking lot. If you’re somewhere warm, I’m totally jealous of you right now (I hate being cold), and if you’re under the storm same as me, you have my sympathies.

My car is third if you go from left to right down the line.
My car is third if you go from left to right down the line.
Cokie is really enjoying watching everything happen.
Cokie is really enjoying watching everything happen.
That's snow on my mezuzah. And yes, it is protected by the frame.
That’s snow on my mezuzah. And yes, it is protected by the frame.

Stay warm everyone! I’ll see you tomorrow for the podcast!

4 thoughts on “FO: Endpaper Mitts

  1. The mitts look amazing! I really love Rowan yarns. We carry quite a bit at the LYS I work at and I’m hoping she’s going to get that in as well. 🙂

      1. Is there a lot left over? I’m sort of poking away at a sock yarn blankie whenever I have a moment. 🙂 What about something like that?

        1. I have 24 out of 25 grams of the second purple ball left and 1 1/2 balls of the white left. I’m doing a beekeeper quilt on the side so I could use some of it for that.

Comments welcome! :)

