Spinning · Tea · Yarn

A Good Day

This morning my mom and I took the almost hour drive down to Wayland, MA to go to the winter farmer’s market there. The reason I went today was because I knew that A Hundred Ravens was going to be there, but also because, farmer’s market. Those are always fun.

We saw lots of different things so here’s a short summary of the day in pictures.

Cactus in the winter. Granted it was inside.
Cactus in the winter. Granted it was inside.
FLUFFY BUNNY!
FLUFFY BUNNY!
Young angora's for sale.
Young angora’s for sale.

20150131_123715

Dyed locks of fiber. So many colors!
Dyed locks of fiber. So many colors!
Beautiful orchids.
Beautiful orchids.
Did you know that pitcher plants are  carnivorous?
Did you know that pitcher plants are carnivorous?
Random velociraptor in the greenhouse.
Random velociraptor in the greenhouse.
There were a couple of koi ponds around.
There were a couple of koi ponds around.
I bought challah from them.
I bought challah from them.

20150131_124544

Gardenia Bonsai
Gardenia Bonsai
Tree o' Yarn
Tree o’ Yarn
Bosworth Spindles! I didn't get one though.
Bosworth Spindles! I didn’t get one though.
Lots of fresh vegetables!
Lots of fresh vegetables!

And this is what I took home from the market:

20150131_161312
Fox jar, challah, 8oz of hand dyed fiber, 2 hanks of DK weight undyed alpaca.

 

My mom and I had a wonderful time while we were there. It was a little crowded and a little noisy and I had trouble dealing with everything, but we really enjoyed ourselves and we’re planning to go back in a few weeks.

On our way home we stopped at a place called “H-Mart” which is an Asian Market in Burlington, MA.. Now, we almost didn’t stop because we couldn’t find any parking but we got lucky and so in we went. It was crazy. In fact, just as crazy as the farmer’s market! The place was packed and it had food from places including, but not limited to, Taiwan, Korea, China, and Japan. The only way I could even guess at what some of it was, was that I could recognize the different languages on the packaging (though I can’t actually read any of them). We had a good time looking at everything. I didn’t get much, but I did get a few things.

Kevin had been looking for chopsticks for ages, and there we were in the market and viola! Chopsticks! I grabbed a few different packs to get. I also bought some Japanese Green Tea (loose leaf), a sugar bowl, a Sake holder, and my mom and I split a thing of mil-chocolate from Japan. Want to see? Here you go!

20150131_194737

Overall, today was, as the post title suggests, a good day. Both my mom and I thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

Knitting updates coming soon! Probably tomorrow when I’m not so tired from walking around all day!

3 thoughts on “A Good Day

  1. Oh, that sounds like so much fun! How did you find out about this winter farmer’s market? I had no idea it was even around. Are there different vendors each weekend?

    1. I found out about it through the “A Hundred Ravens” Facebook page, but there’s a listing of vendors and dates here. The fiber people are going to be there again on February 21 and it seems like there’s going to be the same group of people.

  2. That fox jar is awesome, and that sugar bowl is delightful! At some point I should really go to H-Mart; I haven’t been in ages. Maybe after I take care of kitchen organization stuff….

Comments welcome! :)

