Knitting · Personal Sock Club 2015 · Shawls · Socks · Yarn

Snow Day

What I was supposed to do today:

  • Go in for day 2 of work

What I am doing today:

  • Spending the day on the couch because they said not to come in due to the snow storm.
  • Fighting off a stomach bug that has hit me super hard.
  • Trying to figure out how to log in remotely to the work servers (because access to work email is a good thing).

Not exactly the day I’d had planned!

Granted I’mr ather glad I don’t have to drive in in a snow storm. The roads can get really bad if the DOT doesn’t manage to keep up with the snowfall. They’ve also uppped our snow estimates to 10-16″ which is on top of the 33″ we still have sitting around from last weeks storm. At this rate we won’t be dug out until May!

I’m actually glad I didn’t have to go in today. Like I mentioned above, a stomach bug hit me really hard starting last night and I actually have a fever. It’s a minor one, only about 1.5 degrees but it’s still a fever. Unfortunately I can’t seem to sleep because I took my A.D.D. meds today because I originally thought I was going into work. I got the email saying “don’t come in” (I’m paraphrasing), as I was stopping to get gas to head into work. So I did the smart thing and turned around and went home, put my pj’s back on and I’m going to ensconce myself on the couch for the rest of the day,

So since I’m going to be sitting around, I’m going to be working on some knitting (of course, what else would I do with a now day?). My Vortex Shawl (project link) is almost done. I’m just trying to decide what to do for the edging. i don’t like the picot edge that’s in the pattern so I’m thinking doing a few rows of garter and then just a stretchy bind off to help the edge lay flat.

20150202_101619

That’s it’s current state. I just may finish it today if I have the energy.

In the mean time, here’s a few pictures of the snow taken out of the apartment windows.

20150202_101644

20150202_101706

I hope everyone stays warm in the storm if you’re in the area affected and I’ll let you know how the shawl comes out!

 

PS: Yes, I did start my February Personal Sock Club Socks. I’m saving those for the podcast. 😛

2 thoughts on “Snow Day

  1. Hope you’re feeling much better very soon. A stomach bug is icky. Your snow pictures look like the ones from the other day! I told my youngest daughter that she would get sick of the snow pictures I keep sending her. Pictures and videos from every storm . . . at this rate we’ll all be tired of them!

    1. Unfortunately you’re right, all the snow pictures start to look the same. Especially when I’m limited by taking them out the apartment windows!

      Now that I’ve been resting I am feeling better. I’m making sure to drink plenty of fluids to stay hydrated even if I don’t have much of an appetite. I can only hope I’m better so that I can go into work tomorrow!

Comments welcome! :)

