Knitting · Shawls · Yarn

Knitting Urges

So, I follow Glenna C. over at “Knitting to Stay Sane“. Now, she blogged this week about finishing her fourth Pi Shawl.

Now for those of you that aren’t’ familiar with the concept… The person credited with it’s creation is Elizabeth Zimmerman and the pattern uses the principle of the mathematical constant Pi to create a circular shawl.

Now Glenna has made 4 of them. And that really makes me want to make one myself. I have in fact, technically made one before but it was more of a blanket than a shawl considering I used worsted weight acrylic and I was only just getting back into knitting at the time. The problem is, I could use really any yarn in stash but then it wouldn’t be terribly big. I also want it fingering weight which means I need at least 4 hanks of something.

So I spent a good chuck of my lunch break looking at sweater quantities worth of yarn on Ravelry to see if there was anything I liked at a decent price. If I don’t find anything I’ll probably see what my local shop has in great enough quantities.

I’m going to be good and not cast it on right away, but I’m still thinking about it.

 

PS: Yes, I am in fact working on my quilt blocks. I’ve cleared off my work space, I’m ironing the fabric and I’m going to cut tonight and sew tomorrow.

PPS: Also, yes the socks are done. That’ll be another post tomorrow.

Comments welcome! :)

