Knitting · scarf

Knitting Black Hole

Do you ever have one of those projects? One that seems to go on forever?

I’ve had the Two-Tone Twill Scarf on the needles since the end of March. And guess what, it’s less 5 inches long. Wanna know why? And no, it’s not just because I haven’t knit on it much (there’s at least a solid 7 hours (probably more) into this thing).

It’s linen stitch.

20150406_120631[1]

Linen stitch is officially the bane of my knitting existence. It takes forever and you feel like you go nowhere. I may not be the fastest knitter around but I do like to think I can knit fairly quickly. I mean I’m doing a pair of socks a month on top of other projects. You have to be able to knit at a certain speed to do all that (plus work 40 hours/week!). But this project…. this is officially a time suck. More of a time suck than the sweater I have on the needles. At least with the sweater I can tell I’m making progress! This thing, I feel like I knit and knit and knit and it only gets a 1/4 of an inch longer and I feel like I’ve done 20 rows.

As much as I want to frog it and use the yarn for something else (and it is really nice yarn not that you can tell from that photo), I’m not going to. If you haven’t figured it out already, I have stubbornness issues.

But I’ve decided this project has a due date so it’s going to be this and socks until it’s done. April 24. So 3 weeks. Why April 24? First of all it’s a Friday, second of all it’s when my LYS is having a party to celebrate things made with yarn bought from that LYS. And guess where this yarn came from. Yup! You got it. So I want this done by then. And I’m stubborn enough that I just may get it done (but not guarantees).

Oh, one last thing. The weaving project I have on the go is also from yarn from my LYS. So I want to get that done to. So it’s scarf, weaving, and socks, until they’re done. So much for the other things I cast on in a fit of starter-itis.

 

PS: 6 days until I get my spinning wheel! Squee!

3 thoughts on “Knitting Black Hole

      1. mine is actually a linen, I would say finger weight. Not as tiny as yours. But I hear you – linen stitch seems to not grow. I just measured mine, I am almost half way.

Comments welcome! :)

