Knitting · Shawls · Yarn

Changing the Goal

So back in May I announced that I was going to finish my (affectionately nicknamed) Shawl of Doom before the end of June.

Well, I decided to get a hold of my self and be practical. While I still have a goal of finishing it in the next couple of months, there is no way it’s going to be done by June 30th. Full stop.

So what am I doing instead? I’m changing my goal.

I dug out my long suffering Catkin (which I started back in January) and have decided to finish it this month.

20150611_114627
I tried to take an artsy picture that didn’t involve beige carpet but it didn’t go to well.

That’s it’s current state right now. I’ve put about an inch on it since I decided it was this months goal a few days ago. I’ve completed 13 of the 41 rows in the second chart (of three), so hopefully I can get it done before the end of the month.

The only issue I see is that the third section has three charts that need to be worked simultaneously and I don’t think I’m going to able to use the iPad for that. KnitCompanion only displays one chart at a time so I may just print them out, tape them together and cross them off as I go.

In other news, I now have a bookshelf, which is something I’ve been sorely lacking in the apartment.

Of course, it had to come like this.

IMG_20150610_193358
I kinda had to rip the box open rather inelegantly due to how much glue was holding it together.

Which I then promptly put together to look like this.

IMG_20150610_203452

You will notice Kevin’s Gundam figurines on the bookcase next to it and those are Lego pirate ships on top.

I of course, being the book hoarder lover that I am, promptly put the books I have with me at the apartment on it. (I totally have more books than this and they’re living on 4 bookshelves at my moms (nearly full bookshelves…)).

IMG_20150610_211523

Then, because when I’d gone and bought the bookcase, I also got bins for my yarn, I promptly binned everything (and labelled the tubs with what the weight of yarn is).

IMG_20150610_214841

Much more organized now! And the skeins aren’t sitting on the wire rack that is the shelves. BTW, that wall is about a foot from our bed. I can touch the DK bin while laying in bed if I stretch (I may have short arms).

Lastly, this is aimed at my fellow WordPress users. I’m getting close to my storage limit on my free account. If you have had the same thing happen, did you buy more space? Go premium? What? Buying more space is probably my cheapest option and since I’m not hosting my videos here (those are on Youtube), it would take me a while to fill up another 10GB. Let me know what you think! I’d love to know other people’s solutions to this conundrum.

2 thoughts on “Changing the Goal

  1. The beauty of knitCompanion is that you can digitally glue charts together. Your comment about one chart at a time is simply incorrect. I suppose you might not have subscribed to the in-app purchase.

    1. I didn’t know that! I have paid for the full version so I’ll go look up a tutorial on how to do it. Some of the interface isn’t exactly intuitive so I have trouble figuring out where things are sometimes.

Comments welcome! :)

